David Zink Yi | NORTH TENTH PARALLEL Contemporary Photography from India and South America
Fondazione Fotografia, Modena | 18.2.–28.4.2012
After exploring the the Far East, the emerging growth of the Eastern Europe and the difficult zones of the Middle East and Africa, Fondazione Fotografia investigates other two important lands, even if seemingly distant from each other: the Indian subcontinent and South America.

With over one hundred works related to recent acquisitions – twenty-two artists from the collection of the Fondazione Cassa di Risparmio di Modena – the exhibition offers a background on the liveliest and most interesting artists of two geographical areas which are today undergoing a massive economic development and an incredible explosion from the artistic point of view.

The practices of Indian and South American are characterized by a pure feeling which puts the individual at the center of the world and have a close link to the relationships in the historical traditions, rituals, and heavy legacy of the colonial period, against a backdrop of nature which is as equally generous as it is ruthless. In most of the cases the photograph is still a practice direct and instinctive.

Although geographically poles apart, the two areas express similarities in this artistic confrontation and formal thematic: they deal with confidence issues that are often strong and painful, revealing the uncommon ability to return with extreme delicacy in the form of images, thoughts and emotions.The works on display seem so able to dampen the artistic-cultural differences and reset the geographical distance between the two places: through them, India and South America meet each other ideally, where crossing the Tenth Parallel North.

The exhibition includes the works of  22 artists:From India: Samanta Batra Metha, Nikhil Chopra, Priyanka Dasgupta, Amar Kanwar, Fariba Salma Alam, Ketaki Sheth, Sudarshan Shetty, Dayanita Singh, Raghubir Singh, Vivan Sundaram.From Sudamerica: Claudia Andujar (Brasil), Adriana Bustos (Argentina), Luz Maria Bedoya (Perù), Matias Duville (Argentina), Laura Glusman (Argentina), Parco Pando (Perù), Ishmael Randall Weeks (Perù), Sara Ramo (Brasil), Rosângela Rennó (Brasil), Mauro Restiffe (Brasil), Sebastian Szyd (Argentina), David Zink Yi (Perù).